The autumn is here

Suddenly the autumn came here and pushed away the summer with force. It is no surprise since that happens every year at this time. The temperature becomes colder, the sun rays tries to give us the last warm feelings of a season that is going to be replaced. The leaves on the trees transforms from a healthy and summery green colour, just to take on all colours from yellow to red. Personally I like the autumn very much, it makes me calm in a way. The usage of a warm jacket, a scarf and gloves, it is nice to get inside after being out side. Have a cup of tea and some scones with marmalade. Watching the leaves falling to the ground, wile burning the tongue on scolding hot tea. That got it’s charm to.

Now, you have to put on a jacket and a scarf, bring a thermos with tea. Let us take a bicycle ride on the back roads in the autumn. It is a nice ride, filled with the fragrances of the forest. The rich and slightly cold air fills your nose and lungs. Why not stop for a moment and just listen to the nature, the wind in the trees and the quietness of the forest relaxing after the spring and summer. It is time to relax for everyone, charging our batteries for next season and summer. But before it is summer again, here in Sweden we will have a dark and long winter. Snow and very cold weather when it is hard, not impossible to ride a bicycle.

One good thing with the winter and all snow on the roads, is that you can sit in the basement and renovate old bicycles. Plenty of time to prepare them , and you, for the time when the roads are swept clean of the winter and the warm wind of the spring hits you in the face while pedalling along in the first fragile days of spring.

Next year there will be a Bike in Tweed event again here in Stockholm. In fact there will be several events all over the world. We have the original one, the classic the one and only, London Tweed Run that is by not world famous and had follow-ups all over the world. From the north to south, from east to west. Everyone brings out their fines bicycles and dresses up in tweed clothes. It has become an event that everyone loves. The riders enjoy every minute. The bystanders are happily surprised and cheers and take photos. It all started in London. I would love to join that one, but the chances are rather slim. The thing is that since it is so popular they would like to have a restricted number of participants, but also they need finances to rent/buy/pay everything surrounding the event. So they decided to sell tickets to be able to attend the bicycle event. Understandably it is very popular at the tickets sells out rather quick. I read that last year their tickets sold out in 90 seconds!
So I feel that my chances for booking a ticket is really small.

But there are bike and tweed events in other cites, the biggest may be London Tweed Run. One of the smallest might be the Oslo Tweed ride I heard of, 15 persons. But still, it is a bicycle meeting dressed in tweed.
I never know what to call the events, since the London version is called “Tweed run”. But I heard that Stockholm was not allowed to use that name so it became “Bike in Tweed” instead. In either case, it is bets to call them “tweed events”. I have done some research for possible tweed events that I could attend that might not be impossible. There are an total of 6 different tweed and bicycles events that I think I can possibly attend to. Sadly I guess that I can only attend to only 3 of those 6 events when thinking realistic. It is most due to the fact I need to work weekends often.

First up next year is the craisiest event of them all. It is located in Helsinki, Finland in February! They gathers in Helsinki and rides their bicycles in -20 degrees! That is no problem for me at all, I have done it before. Back in the school days when the bicycle was the only way to get around I used my bicycle all year around. But first I need to check with the Helsinki officials, if I am allowed to attend. After all it would be great fun to bring an old bicycle over there, dressed in a heavy jacket over the tweed suit. Twining rope around the tires for grip in the snow (not the best way to do it, but it is the way we did back then).

Then we have the London Tweed Run in April. But it, as mentioned earlier, might be difficult to catch a ticket. But it would be really, really fun to attend the original tweed event. Having a cup of tea in London dressed in tweed and riding a bicycle on the streets of London, why not? It was a few years since I was in London, perhaps this time it will be a odd and fun experience. I will at least try to get a ticket.

In May there is an really nice event in Oldenburg, Germany. To me that event seems to be really well organized and well thought of. A quick search on internet gives you photos and videos of many bicycle riders that really enjoys themselves and are having a great time.

Then there is 3 different tweed events in Sweden. There is the event in Gothenburg, Malmö and Stockholm. Lucky for me is that they are all held at different dates. It would be fun to attend them all. Just to be able to say that I was there. But time might be against me as mentioned earlier. It is a big shame that we are not allowed to bring yours bicycles on the inter city trains any more. It would been so easy to just simply ride the bicycle to the train, travel by train across the country, then ride to the event and attend. But today, that is impossible.
If I will attend any other “tweed run”/”bike in tweed” event, I will do a reportage about my experiences of course. Reportage complete with text and photos of course.

Next year, I will most likely not use the tandem bicycle again. There is a few reasons for that. First of all, it is easier to manoeuvre a single bicycle, also quicker and more effective in slow speeds. Second reason is that it is easier to carry a single bicycle (have you ever tried to carry a tandem bicycle up the stairs of an old museum)? It is also way more easier to just hook up a rack on the towing hook on a car and hang a bicycle on the rack if transporting the bicycle to places far away, like London for example.

Then we have the interesting question of what bicycle to use and the current bicycle situation for me.
I have an idea that might be a nice homage to my grandfather. He also loved to ride bicycles all the time, even in the winter so my father told me once. When I was a kid my grandfather had an old worn Swedish Rex bicycle that he was given from a neighbour. Later that bicycle was left to me. Sadly it was in a rather bad shape, so I removed some parts from it and scrapped the bicycle (it was before my interest of vintage bicycles started for real). The parts I removed from the frame is still laying in a box in my storage. In that box there is a bicycle pump with holders, an old bicycle bell that came from a friend of my grandparents, the bell must be from the 1920’s it has the loveliest chime. But the main item is the saddle, an old double spring saddle with a loop in the front, all worn and old. But it is an valuable memory from my grandfather.

So I was thinking of building a vintage bicycle as it would been back in the 1930’s that my grandfather could have used. An old Swedish made black roadster with a mudguard mascot, wooden grips on the handlebars, vintage reflectors, old headlight and my grandfathers old saddle. That would be a bicycle great for attending any tweed event with. Also with personal history and essence behind the build.
Currently I am searching for a good foundation bicycle to base my ideas upon. I have some ideas on where I can find a good bicycle. For example I know where there is a great late 1930’s frame in good condition for sale. But I need the other parts, but I will give it one more week to see if the ideas turns out good or not.
Of course I document the build. From the first moment until the finished result. This time I know what I need and want. The winter is long and cold, but first there is time to enjoy the autumn riding the old Hermes bicycle from 1950’s.

IMG_8928_sch

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Stockholm Bike In Tweed is the real event.
    Accept no inferior alternative!

    Reply
  1. The mystery bicycle, part 1 | schneebremse

Leave a Reply

