The winter is here

The winter came with snow and cold winds outside the basement. Of course you can ride your bike this time of year to, you only need to dress well and have good tires on the bicycle. For the really leather skinned bicyclists, this is no match, they might not even need winter cloths. Even I used to take the bicycle all over, all year around back in the olden days. But now days, when I am working far away. It is not really a good idea to ride a bike to work in the same way as back then. Besides I am bit older now.
But just because it is winter does not mean that everything stops regarding bicycles and ideas. No, quite the opposite in fact! Now is the time to repair, mend and fix the bicycles that have been used all summer. Bicycles that have been riding along cobblestone streets and now need to be readjusted and all screws that came loose needs to be tightened. Regarding projects I have my two path racer projects I need to build. They are just standing all deserted in the storage now.  One of them are The black Pelago racer, that are still in parts. Some parts are even missing and other parts are laying around in my closet and some parts can be found in drawers here and there. Why it still is in parts is rather simple. I have a few main issues with that project. One of them is that I want it to be, not only in perfect working order, but I want it to be in a perfect cosmetic way. The looks is important. For example, the frame is black so then the saddle must be black too. The details are in chrome. So the other parts and details must be in the same style of chrome, and so on. The cranks need to be in the correct style for me. After all, I have my vision of how it will look in the end. Also I really do not like to use cheep parts, since the other parts are in good quality and of a known brand it would be a shame to mix them all. I really would like parts that are genuine and solid. No flimsy plastic parts, but parts made of steel and iron! Since the wither is long so I have no rush in buying parts. I am looking for the right parts, at the right moment.

The other project I have going is the “rat-rod-path-racer” or what it should be called.
It started as an idea of an drop bar style bicycle all in metal finish as I mentioned in an earlier post. But that project will end up in a strange hybrid of all different styles. It has gone so far that I am thinking of keeping the original paint since it is has such nice decals and are not to abused. I need only to get rid of some brackets on the frame (the ones for the chain guard and the kick stand) as they are not needed any more and are only disturbing the lines of the frame design.

As I was trying to dismantle the old Monark bicycle, I found out that I did not have the correct tools for the job. So I was thinking that when removing the parts that are partly stuck and will be damaged while I am trying to remove them. I would try to get new parts, that will substitute the ones I will remove. Especially since they most likely will be totally unusable later on. For example, today I tried to take the rear hub into pieces for a clean and lubricate job. But one of the nuts must have been damaged or the thread on the axle it self was damaged. It was impossible to make the nut to move or even budge the slightest. In short, I need better tools for that work or I will damage the thread on the axle.
Strength and good tools is the key word!

But I managed to clean it up. That is an very good thing. Especially since the entire bicycle has dirt, grease and smudge on it since the end of 1950’s. For example I can mention the chain. It needed to be in a cleaning aid bath, soaking for an entire week before the grease even started to dissolve a little. It still got grease left on it after a week of cleaning agents and me scrubbing it with a brush!

The front fork is a bit unstable and are most likely in need of cleaning, lubrication and adjusted. But the special nut holding it all together have not been adjusted or loosened since the person who assembled the bicycle back in the days tightened it. It is stuck there like a rock, it will not move at all! But I will manage to loosen it and make it work with me, a big set of pliers and some brute force will sort that one.
Today I did a quick test assembly of the “white lightning”. It looks really good, it feels really comfortable to ride to! On the photo there is a headlight, I added it just for fun. Since I could not remove the bracket that are for the original headlight. So I decided to reuse it, I had the headlight from that old (new) Chinese bicycle I bought a long time ago. It is rather impressive item with its size and with the chicken head style knob on top. The knob has 3 settings and the headlight it self has 2 bulbs inside. Almost like an old moped. One bulb for position lights and one for headlights. I was thinking, since I do not want to use a dynamo to power the light I will try to build a battery compartment inside the headlight (it is large so an battery will easily fit inside the headlight). Then I can use the knob and use different light settings. That would be a nice effect and useful when riding at night. Sadly the mount for the bracket on the headlight itself are a bit weak and wobbly so I am not sure how it will work. In any case, let us find out!

The look of the bicycle with the handlebars, the headlight and the slim profile all together. It is really looking good! A fun project. I think I will keep the details as they are. It is a racer made to go fast and fearlessly. It has the signs to the the story.

The only question are, will it be accepted at Bike in Tweed 2015?

IMG_3057_sch

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

