Before the big Rex restoration

I thought that you might like some text before I started to tear down the Rex tandem bicycle in parts.

The tandem is in great original condition for its age. It has been used, standing outside so it is dirty, rusty but complete. The rear wheel is not original, but it is typical to the tandem so it might be a replacement wheel that was mounted many years ago. One of the spokes on the rear wheel was broken and turned around one of the other spokes. A typical way to mend things back in the days while on the road. The breaks seams to work well. I have been thinking a lot of exactly what I need to do. I have decided to replace the saddles, the saddle posts the handles and posts. That is it! I will look around for worn parts that I can use.

I will soon dismount the bicycle, clean and polish the parts as good as possible. Both rear and from wheel hubs will be torn down, cleaned and lubricated. The crank shafts has the same coming their way. The rear crank shaft is no problem. The front one is a special one that is loose. I am not sure if I can fix that one. I will take a look. Let us hope for the best.

So now,  two used Brook saddles, two old handlebars in a old style. I already have one pair of handlebar grips. I also have a head light of the same brand as the dynamo that was mounted on the bicycle. In the box of parts “good to have” is an original cat eye that is made for the bicycle. Then it is a matter of putting it all together again.

That is the fun part. Then it is on with the tweed and join the “Bike In Tweed” race.

rex_sch

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. More excellent photos, please! I want to see the complete bicycle from different angles so that I can imagine it better and understand how it looks!

    Reply
    • In the next inlay I will cover the general looks of the Rex. Wait a day or two. All will be explained, there will be a few photos to.

      Reply
  1. The tandem is ready | schneebremse

Leave a Reply

